Office of the Executive Director

Ruth Waalkes Executive Director, Moss Arts Center, and Associate Provost for the Arts
David Ehrlich Outreach Fellow for the Fine Arts
Molly Parker Executive Assistant


Rachael Carberry
Associate Director of Major Gifts
Jacob Paul
Annual Giving Officer

Finance and Administration

Liz Scharman Director of Administration 540-231-0829
Kevin Ayoub Facility and Rentals Manager
Toni Cartee Business Manager 540-231-0837
Austin Elliott Assistant Facility Manager 540-231-6771
Matt Hudson IT Specialist 540-231-0453
Jamie McReynolds Fiscal/HR/Grants Technician 540-231-0856
Shirley Rose Housekeeping Worker  

Marketing and Communication

Katie Gehrt Director of Marketing and Communication 540-231-7443
Reneé Alarid Associate Director of Creative Services 540-231-5275
Bernadette Bascom House Manager 540-231-3409
Susan Bland Associate Director of Communication 540-231-1986
Jonathan Boulter Associate Director of Patron Services 540-231-9793
Avery Eliades Content Manager 540-231-0855
Tracie Hughes Marketing Manager 540-231-1983
Kacy McAllister Box Office and Student Engagement Manager 540-231-0297


Doug Witney
Director of Production
Gustavo Araoz Lighting Supervisor
Nick Corrigan Senior Technician  
Robert Gainer Audio Supervisor 540-231-5406
Laine Goerner Production Coordinator 540-231-1308
Ryan Hasler Stage & Rigging Supervisor 540-231-0888
Joe Ingram Staff Technician  


Margaret Lawrence Director of Programming 540-231-0608
Jon Catherwood-Ginn Associate Director of Programming 540-231-0872
Margo Crutchfield Curator at Large 540-231-0839
Meggin Hicklin Exhibitions Program Manager 540-231-0840
Sarah M. Johnson Program Manager 540-231-0843
Sage Wayrynen Artist Services Assistant 540-231-0862

Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology (ICAT)

Benjamin Knapp
Founding Executive Director 540-231-0856
Tom Martin Director of Strategic and Creative Initiatives 540-231-1911
Lisa McNair Director of Center for Research in SEAD Education 540-231-1326
Doug Bowman Director for Center for Human-Computer Interaction 540-231-2058
Ico Bukvic Director of the Creativity + Innovation Community 540-231-6139
Phyllis Leary Newbill Outreach and Engagement Coordinator 540-231-1319
Dylan Parker Web Developer  
Tanner Upthegrove Media Engineer 540-231-1336
Holly Williams Assistant Director for Administrative Operations 540-231-0802
Melissa Wyers Administrative and Fiscal Coordinator 540-231-1318