Virginia Tech®home


Moss Arts Center staff

Office of the Executive Director

Ruth Waalkes Executive Director, Moss Arts Center, and Associate Provost for the Arts 540-231-0616
David Ehrlich Outreach Fellow for the Fine Arts 540-231-0806
Molly Parker Executive Assistant 540-231-0616


Rachael Carberry
Associate Director of Advancement

Finance and Administration

Liz Scharman Director of Administration 540-231-0829
Toni Cartee Business Manager 540-231-0837
Austin Elliott Building Manager 540-231-6771
Matt Hudson IT Specialist 540-231-0453
Jamie McReynolds Fiscal/HR/Grants Technician 540-231-0856
Shirley Rose Housekeeper  

Marketing and Communication

Katie Gehrt Director of Marketing and Communication 540-231-7443
Reneé Alarid Associate Director of Creative Services 540-231-5275
Bernadette Bascom House Manager 540-231-3409
Susan Bland Associate Director of Communication 540-231-1986
Jonathan Boulter Associate Director of Patron Services 540-231-9793
Avery Eliades Content Manager 540-231-0855
Tracie Hughes Marketing Manager 540-231-1983
Jamie Wiggert Box Office Manager 540-231-0297


Doug Witney
Director of Production
Gustavo Araoz Lighting Supervisor
Robert Gainer Audio Supervisor 540-231-5406
Laine Goerner Production Coordinator 540-231-1308
Ryan Hasler Stage & Rigging Supervisor 540-231-0888
Joe Ingram Staff Technician  


Margaret Lawrence Director of Programming 540-231-0608
Jon Catherwood-Ginn Associate Director of Programming 540-231-0872
Meggin Hicklin Exhibitions Program Manager 540-231-0840
Brian Holcombe Curator 540-231-0839
Sarah M. Johnson Program Manager 540-231-0843
Gwyneth Strope Artist Services Assistant 540-231-0862

Institute for Creativity, Arts, and Technology (ICAT)

Benjamin Knapp
Founding Executive Director 540-231-0856
Tom Martin Director of Strategic and Creative Initiatives 540-231-1911
Lisa McNair Director of Center for Research in SEAD Education 540-231-1326
Doug Bowman Director for Center for Human-Computer Interaction 540-231-2058
Ico Bukvic Director of the Creativity + Innovation Community 540-231-6139
Kevin Ayoub Building Operations Coordinator, CID LLC  
David Franusich Multimedia Designer  
Chelsea H. Lyles, Ph.D. Associate Director of Broader Impacts 540-231-1326
Phyllis Leary Newbill Associate Director of Educational Networks 540-231-1319
Dylan Parker Web Developer  
Tanner Upthegrove Immersive Audio Specialist 540-231-1336
Ginger Williams Proposal Development Specialist 540-231-9310
Holly Williams Assistant Director for Administrative Operations 540-231-0802
Melissa Wyers Administrative and Fiscal Coordinator 540-231-1318